3rd Dead TCS152/96

  1. #1 by Darren Vollmer on 04-06-2017
    Darren Vollmer's Avatar
    Posts: 26

    3rd Dead TCS152/96

    Our Turbosound system is now 8 months old. We have had an amp failure in each of our TCS152/96's. We've also had a driver failure.

    One of the repaired amps just failed again.

    We have never had a problem with the amps in the monitors or the subs, just the tops.

    Growing tiresome....

    They get used about 16 hours per week and, because of the smallish size of the room, we don't even work them very hard.

    Is it possible to just order an extra amp panel? We obviously need to keep a spare in storage.

    Last edited by Darren Vollmer; 04-06-2017 at 09:30 PM.
  2. #2 by Ryan Hammond on 04-07-2017
    Ryan Hammond's Avatar
    Posts: 1,037
    Have you tried the TCS152 (Siena) series instead? I've heard people using and abusing the Sienas and they work like a charm. The Sienas are also a top shelf box with Ultranet.

    The only thing is that I don't know if the Siena's have rotatable horns.

    Last edited by Ryan Hammond; 04-07-2017 at 10:24 AM.
  3. #3 by Michael Lapke on 04-07-2017
    Michael Lapke's Avatar
    Posts: 1,694
    Hi Darren,

    Please check your inbox as I've just sent you a private message regarding this. Thanks!

    Michael Lapke
    Specialist, Community
    MUSIC Tribe
    BEHRINGER
  4. #4 by Derrick Howard on 04-07-2017
    Derrick Howard's Avatar
    Posts: 6
    Yes Ryan, we're using the Siennas for monitors, but Athens for mains (WAY more expensive) because of the rotatable horn. I'm told the amp modules are virtually the same.
  5. #5 by Derrick Howard on 04-07-2017
    Derrick Howard's Avatar
    Posts: 6
    Trying to find out if we can use the Sienna amp module in the Athens cabinet.... I think the extra connections in the Sienna is for the blue lighted logo (not lighted in the Athens).
  6. #6 by Darren Vollmer on 04-07-2017
    Darren Vollmer's Avatar
    Posts: 26
    - Ryan Hammond wrote View Post
    Have you tried the TCS152 (Siena) series instead? I've heard people using and abusing the Sienas and they work like a charm. The Sienas are also a top shelf box with Ultranet.

    The only thing is that I don't know if the Siena's have rotatable horns.
    TCS is Athens, TSP is Sienna. We use Sienna TSP152's for wedge monitors. I believe the Athens are above Sienna's as far as "top shelf". The amplifier appears to be identical between the Athens TCS 152/96-AN and the TSP152AN's. The difference between the series as far as I can tell is the size. (The athens are much larger units/larger speakers)

    I've asked before hopefully I can get an answer. Is the amplifier the same? I would gladly temporarily swap a monitor amp into one of our tops to get by during the RMA process. Much easier to be down the drum monitor vs being down one of our tops. If we lose a second top amp (knock on wood, hasn't happened yet) before the other amp is shipped/fixed/returned we will be dead in the water (not good)

    I just can't fathom how this could be happening on our end. I've got isolated ground dedicated circuits for the speakers, for the mixer and for the stage rack. It's a smallish room and we really don't have to push the system very hard to have more volume then we need.

    We have an X32 compact, ultranet to two MidasDL16's and then the 2 Athens tops, 2 Athens subs and 4 Sienna Monitors. Originally we daisy chained but once the first amp failed and having to reroute the cat cable to pass the ultranet signal we added a P16D ultranet distribution hub and pulled individual cat to each of the speakers to avoid a cascade failure if an amp failed again (and it did).

    We have had absolutely no issues with the Sienna Monitors or the Athens subs. It's been the top's amps giving us fits.

    Last edited by Darren Vollmer; 04-07-2017 at 05:25 PM.
  7. #7 by Darren Vollmer on 05-24-2017
    Darren Vollmer's Avatar
    Posts: 26

    ugh

    A month turn around time on the amp. Get it back (they said there was nothing wrong with it) and it powered on for 60 seconds and then shut down (won't power on).

    What a disaster....
  8. #8 by Ryan Hammond on 05-25-2017
    Ryan Hammond's Avatar
    Posts: 1,037
    Could it be that the power supply doesn't like the power?
  9. #9 by Zac Ross on 05-25-2017
    Zac Ross's Avatar
    Posts: 88
    - Darren Vollmer wrote View Post
    A month turn around time on the amp. Get it back (they said there was nothing wrong with it) and it powered on for 60 seconds and then shut down (won't power on).

    What a disaster....
    Dear Darren,

    My name is Zac Ross and I am a representative of the ENTE CARE team out of Las Vegas. I would like to further discuss your situation and help to quickly find a resolution. I am going to PM you!

    Best,
    Zac Ross
    Technician, Care
    MUSIC Group
    MIDAS

    Last edited by Chase McKnight; 05-25-2017 at 03:57 PM. Reason: <3
  10. #10 by Darren Vollmer on 05-25-2017
    Darren Vollmer's Avatar
    Posts: 26
    Thanks Zac.

    Tonight I removed the amplifier from the TCS152/96 as it would not power up today after being removed from power for over 24 hours.

    I removed the load (speaker harness) from the amp. Replugged in the amp loose from the TCS152 and it powered up and then shut back down after 15 seconds. It would not power up again.

    I then took the loose amp and connected it to one of our monitor power cords. The amplifier powered up and remained powered on (still disconnected from a speaker load and ultranet input) for one hour.

    I reinstalled the amplifier in the TCS152/96, connected ultranet and connected the speaker to power using one of my monitor power cords. The speaker powered on, connected to signal and produced sound.

    We have karaoke tonight and a band the next two nights so this will get about 12 hours of runtime over the next couple of days.

    The questionable power cord tests ok with a voltmeter (but I can't test it's ampacity under load or voltage drop). This power cord was installed from day one in a truss with the speaker in a permanent installation so the cord has never been exposed to physical stress.

    I am beginning to suspect that the power cord was defective from the start and that it is suffering voltage drop under load. A "dirty" cord might help explain all of the issues we have had with this particular speaker/amp (amp failures, and the loss of a driver).

    I will let you know after this weekend if the amplifier performed correctly through all our shows.

    It would be a great relief if this cord has been the source of our problems.