VoiceLive Play GTX - Blank Blue Screen

  1. #1 by Paul Hartfree on 03-21-2015
    Paul Hartfree's Avatar
    Posts: 3

    VoiceLive Play GTX - Blank Blue Screen


    Turned on the Play last night and updated the Firmware to latest. Last night it was fine but today it has a blank blue screen! I have tried downgrading the Firmware then updating again but, no joy.

    Any idea's if this is software fixable or, a hardware fault?

    The unit is probably 18 months old but, Ive probably only turned it on less than 20 times so if its a fault this early on, its a little surprising/worrying..

    We have a gig in about 10 days so we are completely panicing

    I have raised a support ticket.

    thanks for any pointers,

    Paul
  2. #2 by Chris Tidestrom on 03-23-2015
    Chris Tidestrom's Avatar
    Posts: 54

    Does VoiceSupport see the GTX at all?

    Craig, this may be a bump to you...
  3. #3 by Chris Tidestrom on 03-23-2015
    Chris Tidestrom's Avatar
    Posts: 54

    Paul, the GTX manual says:

    How do i perform a full factory reset?




    -when powering up the unit, press and hold “Back” and “store”

    *any changes you have made to presets or setup information will be erased Back up your cutom presets and setup data via voicesupport .



    Don't know if you did that. Hope this helps.


  4. #4 by Paul Hartfree on 03-24-2015
    Paul Hartfree's Avatar
    Posts: 3

    Hi again Chris.

    Yes, I did server system resets.

    Yes, the VoiceSupport tool sees the GTX and will successfully update the Firmware etc. So, it really is just a dead screen.

    As mentioned in my other thread, Ive now sent it off to the UK service center (Real Electronics in Sheffield) [very nice people btw..!]

    Im kind of hoping it wont be fixed in time for our gig on 4th April as I will then need to buy the VL3

    thanks for the pointers - ill try and remember to post back to the thread with the final resolution.

    ta,

    Paul

  5. #5 by Paul Hartfree on 03-29-2015
    Paul Hartfree's Avatar
    Posts: 3

    Its all fixed!! I sent it to the wonderful Real Electronics and it was back with me in under 48hours!!

    On the downside it means I cant justify getting a VL3 Maybe after our next gig in a few days I might see about selling the GTX and upgrading.

    Thanks again for the replies.

    Paul
  6. #6 by Chris Tidestrom on 03-29-2015
    Chris Tidestrom's Avatar
    Posts: 54

    That is great news, Paul!

  7. #7 by Chris Tidestrom on 03-29-2015
    Chris Tidestrom's Avatar
    Posts: 54

    I mean...sorry, dude!
  8. #8 by Paul Hartfree on 03-30-2015
    Paul Hartfree's Avatar
    Posts: 3

    Yeah, Chris.. No VL3 for me.. Certainly not till after current gig but maybe after we can justify it

    thanks again,

    Paul
  9. #9 by Carlos344729 on 06-05-2016
    Carlos344729's Avatar
    Posts: 0

    I have voicelive play gtx Blue Screen also , I did a firmware update and it did not help either, I am waiting back on support to get help also., This seems like an issue on their products they have also. Another issue, I can only get 1 vocal effect to work. it is stuck on that effect and i cant change it.
  10. #10 by Fabio Luigi Bonezzi on 04-26-2018
    Fabio Luigi Bonezzi's Avatar
    Posts: 6
    Nobody knows how recover a white/blue screen on GTX? probably a firmware fail.
    Thanks!