Control Surface with DAW

  1. #1 by Tommy Swindle on 11-05-2016
    Tommy Swindle's Avatar
    Posts: 10

    Control Surface with DAW

    I use my M32 in my studio. Not live use.

    When connected to a DAW (Cubase, Protools, etc., I wish there were a way to set up the M32 with the DAW so that I could control more than 8 faders at a time. In my setup, inputs 17-32 are basically daw returns, which is good. But as far as I know, there is no way to control them from a DAW. Or vice versa. AS far as I know the only fader control is when REMOTE on the M32 is activated. And then only 8 faders on the M32 buss section interface to the DAW.

    Is there a way to expand this? Seems like it's "almost there ", when compared the to Tascam DM 3200 I had before the M32.

    Don't misunderstand, the control surface works. I just find myself wishing I could automix all DAW return channels without having to page through banks of 8 faders.

    Last edited by Tommy Swindle; 11-05-2016 at 10:32 PM. Reason: Clarification.
    Thanks,
    Tommy Swindle
    https://www.3rdavenuesound.com/
  2. #2 by Patrick-Gilles Maillot on 11-06-2016
    Patrick-Gilles Maillot's Avatar
    Posts: 1,152
    - Tommy Swindle wrote View Post
    I use my M32 in my studio. Not live use.

    When connected to a DAW (Cubase, Protools, etc., I wish there were a way to set up the M32 with the DAW so that I could control more than 8 faders at a time. In my setup, inputs 17-32 are basically daw returns, which is good. But as far as I know, there is no way to control them from a DAW. Or vice versa. AS far as I know the only fader control is when REMOTE on the M32 is activated. And then only 8 faders on the M32 buss section interface to the DAW.

    Is there a way to expand this? Seems like it's "almost there ", when compared the to Tascam DM 3200 I had before the M32.

    Don't misunderstand, the control surface works. I just find myself wishing I could automix all DAW return channels without having to page through banks of 8 faders.
    Tommy,

    I recently read a post where people mentioned being able to switch banks in order to control more than 8 DAW channels, but still from the same X32/M32 8 faders.

    One thing I developed, and is used by several studios WW is X32Reaper. It works with REAPER (which knows/accepts OSC streams) and enables a large control, including transport functions* from the X32/M32, and you can use all 32 channels, bus, dca, fx, aux, matrix and LR faders! One studio user in Australia manages well above 100 REAPER channels with this tool, including audio and MIDI.

    You can control the X32** from REAPER, and vice versa, realtime.

    https://sites.google.com/site/patrickmaillot/x32

    Hope this helps,
    -Patrick

    *: play, rew, ff, rec,...; jump to beat, marker; jog fwd and backwd...
    **: volume, pan, select, solo, mute, scribbles
  3. #3 by Tommy Swindle on 11-06-2016
    Tommy Swindle's Avatar
    Posts: 10

    M32 Control Surface - current setup

    Patrick,

    Re:
    "...being able to switch banks in order to control more than 8 DAW channels, but still from the same X32/M32 8 faders...."

    Correct. All works perfectly. But it would be great if I could utilize the rest of the faders. I attached a pdf to illustrate. The yellow highlighted rectangle is the current capability, the red is the desired capability. As I stated in my original post, I previously had a Tascam DM3200. All 16 faders could be controlled. I got spoiled to this, as I do a lot of mixes which have dozens of tracks. For most of them, Cubase 8.5 Pro is my DAW of choice. But some are also done in Protools.

    Now, if REAPER allows this functionality, I'm very interested!



    - Patrick-Gilles Maillot wrote View Post
    Tommy,

    I recently read a post where people mentioned being able to switch banks in order to control more than 8 DAW channels, but still from the same X32/M32 8 faders.

    One thing I developed, and is used by several studios WW is X32Reaper. It works with REAPER (which knows/accepts OSC streams) and enables a large control, including transport functions* from the X32/M32, and you can use all 32 channels, bus, dca, fx, aux, matrix and LR faders! One studio user in Australia manages well above 100 REAPER channels with this tool, including audio and MIDI.

    You can control the X32** from REAPER, and vice versa, realtime.

    https://sites.google.com/site/patrickmaillot/x32

    Hope this helps,
    -Patrick

    *: play, rew, ff, rec,...; jump to beat, marker; jog fwd and backwd...
    **: volume, pan, select, solo, mute, scribbles
    Attached Files Attached Files

    Thanks,
    Tommy Swindle
    https://www.3rdavenuesound.com/
  4. #4 by Patrick-Gilles Maillot on 11-06-2016
    Patrick-Gilles Maillot's Avatar
    Posts: 1,152
    - Tommy Swindle wrote View Post
    Patrick,

    Re:
    "...being able to switch banks in order to control more than 8 DAW channels, but still from the same X32/M32 8 faders...."

    Correct. All works perfectly. But it would be great if I could utilize the rest of the faders. I attached a pdf to illustrate. The yellow highlighted rectangle is the current capability, the red is the desired capability. As I stated in my original post, I previously had a Tascam DM3200. All 16 faders could be controlled. I got spoiled to this, as I do a lot of mixes which have dozens of tracks. For most of them, Cubase 8.5 Pro is my DAW of choice. But some are also done in Protools.

    Now, if REAPER allows this functionality, I'm very interested!
    Tommy,
    Yellow and Red rectangles, plus the MUTE group box, the BUS SENDS and the PAN/BAL sections

    The attached jpg shows the controllable/controlling area.

    -Patrick
    Attached Images Attached Images
  5. #5 by Tommy Swindle on 11-06-2016
    Tommy Swindle's Avatar
    Posts: 10
    Very cool.

    Will be giving Reaper a try.

    Thanks for the help!

    - Patrick-Gilles Maillot wrote View Post
    Tommy,
    Yellow and Red rectangles, plus the MUTE group box, the BUS SENDS and the PAN/BAL sections

    The attached jpg shows the controllable/controlling area.

    -Patrick

    Thanks,
    Tommy Swindle
    https://www.3rdavenuesound.com/
  6. #6 by Tommy Swindle on 11-07-2016
    Tommy Swindle's Avatar
    Posts: 10
    Patrick,

    Tried Reaper. Works fine with the OSC Bridge. I wish I had an OSC bridge for Cubase!

    Someone here has a wireless version:
    http://www.pendlebury.biz/rccubaseosc

    Hexler has something, but I haven't researched it enough to know if it will work.
    http://hexler.net/docs/touchosc-getting-started-midi

    Cubase has a Generic Remote that can be configured to work with pretty much anything. The missing link seems to be the OSC bridge.

    Thanks again for the info.

    - Tommy Swindle wrote View Post
    Very cool.

    Will be giving Reaper a try.

    Thanks for the help!

    Thanks,
    Tommy Swindle
    https://www.3rdavenuesound.com/
  7. #7 by Andre Maquera on 01-12-2017
    Andre Maquera's Avatar
    Posts: 1
    I too am coming from the DM3200 to the x32 world. I must say that the DAW control development seems woefully inadequate. Is there no way to access all the available channel faders? (No disrespect to Reaper, but I've been using Nuendo and Cubase for way too long)

    TIA,

  8. #8 by Michael Colton on 05-23-2018
    Michael Colton's Avatar
    Posts: 1

    Midas M32 and full daw controll

    Hi,

    Has anyone gotten any further with getting the M32 to be used with Nuendo as a full daw control not just the 8 fader banks on the right side?

    Thanks
  9. #9 by Robert Lofgren on 05-23-2018
    Robert Lofgren's Avatar
    Posts: 5,056
    I would say no...

    - Michael Colton wrote View Post
    Hi,

    Has anyone gotten any further with getting the M32 to be used with Nuendo as a full daw control not just the 8 fader banks on the right side?

    Thanks

    __________________________________________________ _______________________

    Check the knowledgebase at https://kb.musictri.be/mghome

    For official technical and warranty support for your product you should contact the support team through their CARE department. You can contact CARE by phone at (+1) 702-800-8290 for the US and Canada and (+44) 1562 732290 in Europe.

    You can also contact CARE support via email at CARECREA@music-group.com. They strive to respond to emails within 24-48 hours during normal business hours, but please be patient if it takes longer due to the volume of emails they receive.


    Robert Lofgren
    Volunteer Forum Community Moderator